Icing on the Cake

It’s 11 am. We are sitting on a boulder we just cleared of two feet of snow, within a boulder field we’ve called home for 25 days. Our wall still looms above, a five-minute walk from camp and now covered in snow and continuing to release little avalanches. We’re cold. Emily reads a book. I start making songs about Warren, the helicopter pilot, flying through the fog and rescuing us. Lorna rummages the bags for breakfast.

My toes are cold; I’m whining often. The simple contentment from freeing a line we worked so hard on is being eclipsed by my desire to now leave camp.

We call on the sat phone. Warren is on his way, the weather making a hard go of it. Then we hear the chopper. It emerges in all its sleek glory. The snow blows hard, and it’s no use speaking anymore. A skid touches down precisely on the edge of the boulder. We load bags in the backside door, and Lorna climbs in the front. She’s off with Warren. Emily and I sit there laughing our way through the change from quiet to jarring noise and back again. Now it seems quieter.

The helicopter is back in 10 minutes. A bag-loading frenzy and now it’s my turn to climb on board with Warren.  Five minutes later I’m taking off my shoes and puff pants at Glacier Lake. Emily is alone below Proboscis, and I wonder how she’s faring.

Fast-forward four hours: The three of us are sitting in a hot tub outside Inconnu Lodge. Four more hours: We’re giving a slideshow and showing videos to curious lodge guests and the supportive staff who maintain this wonderful place beside the lake.

Where am I? A disjointed combination of experiences encouraged me to stumble over myself walking along the flat grass last night: This is not a boulder-field.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Madaleine

Bruises from playing outside amused me when I was young. My legs are all bruised today from climbing, so it must be a good fit. I enjoy all kinds of climbing and continue to be inspired by big wall adventures. I am thankful for a climbing life, my goals, and the countless formative experiences with new and old partners. I’ve worked many hours in outdoor programs and as a rock guide (Completed the American Mountain Guides Association Rock Guides course in 2005) and love sharing a playful attitude with someone roping up for their first times. Predominantly growing up in the city/suburbs landscape of Washington D.C., climbing has been an obvious outlet into natural world. I usually live in Boulder, Colorado and finished my first year of a graduate program in land-use and environmental planning. I’ve learned that sharing a central passion with others brings great joy to all and I look forward to further fusing multimedia storytelling with this adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Icing on the Cake

  1. Madaleine's Mum says:

    Yes, you did!!!

  2. Mikey says:

    Ya crushers!!!!!!!!

  3. Kate says:

    Yippee! I am so proud of you girls!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

