Mandarin oranges, sleep, and packing

Madaleine and I enjoyed a long day of climbing on Half Dome before she departed the valley.  We did some night climbing, and Madaleine pulled through to lead 5.12 slab in the dark.  Upon descending the cables and skirting down to the base late in the evening we chatted with some keen climbers heading up on the route early the next day.  They offered us food and even better the use of their sleeping bags when they started to climb.  So we got mandarin oranges and a few hours of welcome sleep before the death slab descent.  The bond of climbing in Yosemite exists and despite the scene and spray, people help each other out.

We are all meeting up in Bozeman at Emily’s home in two weeks.  So the packing will begin.  For my part I am packing my belongings up from Yosemite, re-packing and unpacking in Oregon, and finally packing with the gals in Montana.  I will be ready for some rock climbing after all that.

Here’s my big wall gear list I run through before heading on a wall:  *Food*Day food*Water*Sleeping bag*Pad*Bivy sac*Portaledge*Portaledge fly*Clothes*Rain gear*Puffy jacket synthetic*Toothbrush etc.*Day bag with sunscreen, sunglasses, etc.*Cell phone/radio*Headlamps (2)*Personal water bottle*Rack*Pin Rack*QDs*Cordalettes*Lockers*Swivel*Protrax*Plastic rope protector*Extra ladder*Hammer*Ladders*Harness*Pulley*Safety biner with knife, lower outs, ATC, etc.*Topo copies*GriGri*Gloves*Jugs*Ropes*Wag bags, TP, etc.

Four weeks in a remote area means we will be having a lot longer list with all our base camp equipment and food.

About Lorna K Illingworth

Born and raised in Portland, Oregon I grew up swimming in the city, exploring the forest around my home, and skiing up at Mt Hood. My British parents introduced me to fell walking on our annual trips to the Lake District to see family in the north of England, and instilled a love for travelling to new areas. I started rock climbing at Middlebury College, and took a semester off to go climbing and skiing in Canmore, Alberta, before traveling to Nepal for study. Being in the mountains drew me to climbing, and now I am keen to be hundreds or thousands of feet up on a wall. Since finishing college I have climbed in the States and abroad. Recently I have lived seasonally in Yosemite Valley, working on YOSAR.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

